Groundwork for MLC polls starts

Telangana Legislative CouncilPolitical parties have already started groundwork for the MLC elections in the State. The tenure of seven MLCs, who were elected on local body quota, ends and they would retire today. So with this the vacancies would be 17.

The tenure of seven MLCs elected under MLA quota came to an end on March 29.

Jagadishwar Reddy, Bhoopal Reddy, Bhanuprasad, Arikela Narsareddy, Nethi Vidyasagar, Patolla Nageshwara Rao and Patnam Narender Reddy have retired.

Another MLC under Governor’s quota also retired. The Centre clarified on the MLC vacancies under States bifurcation Act. Under MLA quota one seat was reduced while increasing three seats under local body quota. With this the total vacancies rose to 17.

CEC has already passed orders on reduction of one seat and the other three vacancies arising under local body, orders are yet to be passed. The CEC also clarified that there were chances of increasing one seat each in Rangarddy, Mahaboobnagar and Karimnagar districts.

The election commission is expected to evolve a plan for conduct of elections for the seats except for the one falling under Governor’s quota.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.