ICCR’s alumni awards function on March 20

New Delhi, (IANS) The Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) will hold a function here on March 20 to hand out Distinguished Alumni Awards 2016 to five awardees.

Union Minister of State for External Affairs General V.K. Singh (retd) will present the awards, given for promoting understanding and enhancing goodwill and friendship between India and the country of the respective awardee.

The function will be held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Bhavan.

The awards recognise foreign students who have studied in various Indian universities under the ICCR-sponsored or -supported scholarship schemes.

A five-member jury selected the five awardees from nominations received from Indian Missions and Posts abroad.

The winners for 2016 are Soe Win, Permanent Secretary, Union Ministry of Education, Government of Myanmar; Galina Sokolova, Vice Dean of the faculty of Classical and Modern Philology of Sofia University, Bulgaria; Laura Gibratovna Yerekesheva, Deputy Director, International Affairs; Head of Department of Central and South Asian Studies, Institute of Oriental Studies, Almaty, Kazakhstan; I. Ketut Widnya, Director General of Hindu Community Guidance, Ministry of Religious Affairs, Government of Indonesia; and Sarita Boodhoo, Chairperson, Bhojpuri Speaking Union, Ministry of Arts and Culture, Mauritius.

ICCR gives over 5,000 scholarships every year to students from various countries for studies at the undergraduate, postgraduate and research levels in various Indian universities.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of v6news.tv are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.