New districts inauguration in Telangana

cm-kcrScripting a new history, Telangana government today formally launched 21 new districts, in the biggest ever administrative exercise after the formation of the state two years ago. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao has set the tone by launching the Siddipet district, carving out from the erstwhile Medak district. His cabinet colleagues have broken a coconut and performed puja on this auspicious day in the remaining 20 new districts. With this the geographical boundaries have changed drastically and the total number of districts in the state has risen to 31. The number of revenue divisions have gone up to 68 and another 120 mandals add up.

There are four new police commissionerates and 91 new police stations.

The new districts were launched simultaneously at their headquarters exactly at same time of 11:13 AM.

State government has issued notification for the new districts well past mid night considering it as very auspicious.

The new districts have taken shape after a gap of 38 years.

With the rejig, Hyderabad becomes the biggest district with a population of 39.44 lakhs and Rajanna Siricilla district the smallest with just 5.44 lakh population. The average area of each district is 3704 square kilometers.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.