NTPC Ramagundam Completes 36 Years of Foundation


The National Thermal Power Corporation or famously known as NTPC completes it 36 years on November 14 this year. The foundation stone of the auspicious project was laid on Nov-14 1978 in Ramagundam by the then Prime Minister of India Morarji Desai. The NTPC now provides electricity to every third bulb in the nation. It produces 21,594 MU of power every year becoming the largest power station in south India. It supplies power to six states and one union territory, namely, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Goa and Puducherry.

Telangana and Andhra Pradesh jointly share 29 per cent of production from NTPC Ramagundam, while Tamil Nadu gets 22 per cent, Karnataka gets 16 per cent, and Kerala gets 12 per cent. Goa gets 5 per cent while the union territory Puducherry gets 2 per cent of electricity generated from the power plant.

NTPC Ramagundam has seven power units, four units of 500 MW capacity each while three units of 200 MW capacity each.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of v6news.tv are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.