Over 72 percent turnout in fifth phase of Bengal polls


Kolkata, (IANS) Amid tight security, over 72 percent of the electorate braved the sweltering heat to cast their votes in the first eight hours of polling for 53 constituencies in the fifth and penultimate phase of the West Bengal assembly polls on Saturday. Stray incidents of violence were reported.

Voting began at 7 a.m. for 31 constituencies in South 24 Parganas and 18 in Hooghly districts besides four in South Kolkata.

“Poll percentage till 3 p.m. was 72.19 percent overall. In Hooghly it was 72.46 percent, in Kolkata South 58.05 percent and in South 24 Parganas 73.19 percent,” said an Election Commission (EC) official.

While the EC claimed the polling was peaceful, the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and Congress accused the ruling Trinamool Congress of intimidating voters and election agents.

Assembly Deputy Speaker and Trinamool Congress candidate Sonali Guha courted controversy in her constituency Satgachia of South 24 Parganas when she was caught by TV cameras instructing over phone to “thrash CPI-M agent from a booth”.

The poll panel subsequently ordered that a first information report be lodged against Guha for the remarks.

On the other hand, Trinamool leaders including Lok Sabha member Abhishek Banerjee alleged “excesses” by the central security forces.

There were reports of entry of “outsiders” in Kasba while in Haripal of Hooghly district, the CPI-M claimed its agents were prevented from entering or threatened/intimidated in some booths in Khanakul in Hooghly and South 24-Parganas’ Canning East.

Clashes between the Trinamool and CPI-M were reported in Arambagh of Hooghly.

Left Front-Congress backed independent nominee Ambikesh Mahapatra alleged voters were being prevented from entering booths and one of his polling agents’ family members assaulted by “Trinamool goons” in his constituency Behala East.

Nearly 1.24 crore voters across 14,642 polling stations, including 77 auxiliary booths, are eligible to decide the fate of 349 candidates — 43 of them female.

The Trinamool and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are contesting in all the seats in this phase.

The Left Front, which has tied up with the Congress, is in the fray in 37 seats – CPI-M (31), All India Forward Bloc (three), Revolutionary Socialist Party (two) and Communist Party of India (one). The Congress has 14 candidates in the contest.

In the 2011 assembly polls, the Trinamool had captured 46 of these seats. The LF had won only six – CPI-M four, and the RSP and the FB one each. The Socialist Unity Cetre of India-Communist had bagged one.

Among the star voters who exercised their franchise were Chief Minister and Trinamool supremo Mamata Banerjee and her predecessor and Marxist veteran Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee.

All eyes are on south Kolkata’s Bhabanipur, where Banerjee — seeking re-election — is facing a challenge from Left Front-backed Congress nominee Deepa Dasmunshi and Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s grandnephew Chandra Kumar Bose of the BJP.

Ahead of Saturday’s polls, elections have been held in 216 of the 294 constituencies in the state.

The remaining 25 will vote in the sixth and final phase on May 5.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of v6news.tv are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.