Pinarayi Vijayan to be Kerala CM

Pinarayi-VijayanIn a shocker to nonagerian VS Achutanandan, the CPM leadership has chosen Mr Pinarayi Vijayan, another veteran and politburo member Mr Pinarayi Vijayan as the next Chief Minister of Kerala. Mr Sitaram Yechury, the CPI (M ) General Secretary held confabulations with all the factions of the party and it was decided to accord a cabinet rank post to Mr VS Achutanandan.

This is a rather unexpected turn of events for the grand old man of Kerala as he hoped to end his political career with the coveted post.

Although the campaign for the Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPM in Kerala was largely led by the former chief minister, the contribution of former Kerala state secretary Pinarayi Vijayan is also equally good who has been covering ground as well.

Pinarayi Vijayan won from Dharmadam constituency, while Achutanandan won Malampuzha.

Born in 1944 to a toddy tapper’s family in Kannur, 72-year-old Vijayan served the longest as Kerala CPM state committee secretary from 1998 to 2015. He has been elected to the state legislative assembly four times.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.