Privileges committee to discuss on pepper incident


Lagadapati’s pepper spraying criminality has now been referred to the Lok Sabha Privileges Committee. Headed by PC Chacko, the 15 member committee has the powers to recommend expulsion and even imprisonment. A Security Committee has already been set up under the lead of Deputy Speaker Karia Munda to look into matters of security, need to check members before entering etc,.

Regarding the privileges committee, the Lok Sabha Secretariat said the decision to refer the matter to the Privileges Committee has been done under Rule 227 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha. The function of the panel is to examine every question involving breach of privilege or contempt of the House or of the members of any Committee thereof referred to it by the House or by the Speaker.

After the pepper incident, three MPs were hospitalized and later 16 MPs were suspended for a week from the House, including the perpetrator -Lagadapati Rajagopal.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.