Teesta, CPI-M MPs denied entry into Hyderabad varsity

TeestaCivil rights activist Teesta Setalvad and two Communist Party of India-Marxist MPs were not allowed to enter University of Hyderabad today, evoking protest from students.

The university security personnel stopped Teesta and MPs from Kerala, T. Rajesh and P.Sampath, at the main gate.

They were invited by the students’ groups to address a public meeting as part of the ongoing agitation against last week’s police crackdown and the demand to remove P. Appa Rao as vice chancellor.

Teesta and the two Lok Sabha members lodged strong protest over the denial of entry. They condemned the curbs imposed by the university on entry of political leaders, activists and media into the campus.

The students, who were waiting from on the campus, also rushed to the main gate and raised slogans against the university authorities.

Joint Action Committee for Social Justice, an umbrella grouping of various students’ groups, has condemned the university’s action and called it an attempt to stifle the movement for justice to Rohith Vemula, a Dalit research scholar who committed suicide in January.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of v6news.tv are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.