Telangana set to become 30-district state?

telanganaTelangana government has formed a high-powered committee to consider the demands to form three more districts_ Gadwal, Siricilla and Janagama. The panel to be headed by TRS senior leader and Rajya Sabha member K Keshava Rao, would speak to all sections and the feasibility of inclusion and exclusion of various mandals will give its report in a couple days and basing on which a final call will be taken by the government.

If these three are also made disticts, the number of new district would increase to 20 and along with the existing 10, the total number of districts in the new state would go to 30.

Chief minister K Chandrasekhara Rao who closeted with the leaders of four districts- Mahbubnagar, Ranga Reddy, Nizamabad, Medak and Nalgonda said the proposed districts would be formed strictly to facilitate governance for public convenience and necessity and not decided to suit the needs of political class.

Mahbubnagar, which was already trifurcated, may get another district, Gadwal, if the high powered panel decides. The local Congress MLA DK Aruna tendered her resignation to the Chief Minister urging him to make it as district. The opponents termed it as a political stunt.

Janagama, in Warangal district witnessed several rallies and outcry from various quarters in the last two months- to make it a new district.

Siricilla, the textile town of Telangana, is presently represented by KT Rama Rao, minister.

A draft notification has already been issued to form 27 districts and the government sought public opinion on it. There was near unanimity on 25 districts. The new districts may come into force from the Viajadasami Day, i.e. October 11.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.