TS forms cabinet sub-committee on KWDT row

srihariTelangana government has formed a cabinet sub-committee to examine deeply the fall out of Brijesh Kumar Tribunal verdict on the Krishna river water sharing. The panel, headed by Irrigation minister T Harish Rao will have Roads and Buildings minister Tummala Nageswara Rao, Agriculture Minister P Srinivasa Reddy and Kadium Srihari, Deputy Chief Minister and Niranjan Reddy, Advisor. The tribunal rejected the pleas of both Telugu states and reiterated its 2013 verdict on sharing of water. It also made it clear that the tribunal is confined to only Telugu states and not to other riparian states. The sub-committee will go into all aspects and suggest the government the further course of action of whether to go to Supreme court or not.

Telangana cabinet meeting has taken place this afternoon and it has passed a resolution urging the governor to prevail upon AP government to hand over their buildings to Telangana. “They have a right to continue in Hyderabad for ten years. But since AP has chosen to shift to Amaravati and the buildings are empty now, we urge them to hand over them to us. The AP CMO, ministers, secretaries, heads of departments have already left for Velagapudi. That’s why we place this request. As per section 8 or AP Reorganization Act, the governor has to take a call. We heard that AP government is also positive on handing over the buildings to us. Mr Naidu has already reportedly conveyed the same to the governor ESL Narasimhan today, as per news reports. We will hand over our resolution to the governor shortly” Mr Kadium Srihari said, briefing newsmen after the cabinet meet.

Two more panels have been formed on development of fisheries and reforms to be taken up in state universities. While the first one will be headed by Mr Talasani Srinivas Yadav the second one will be by Mr Kadium himself. A uniform structure will be evolved in varsities, Mr Srihari said.

Another key decision taken in the meet was changing the names of six new districts. They are:

Old Name                                New Name

Yadadri                                   Yadadri-Bhuvanagiri

Asifabad                                   Kumaram Bhim-Asifabad

Rajanna                                     Rajanna-Siricialla

Bhadradri                                   Bhadradri-Kottagudem

Jogulamba                                  Jogulamba- Gadwal

Jayashankar                                Jayashankar-Bhoopalapalli

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of v6news.tv are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.