Unexpected 2 New MLAs, Decision by Election Commission

Election-CommissionKhammam: Seven mandals voters that would be submerged under the suggested Polavaram Irrigation Project were surprised over the sudden change of their political status by Election Commission.

Voters of these mandals were merged in two assembly constituencies, with MLA V. Rajeswari representing Rampachodavaram in East Godavari and MLA M. Srinivas Rao representing Polavaram in West Godavari, MLAs representing till 2019.

Election Commission merged voters of Kunavaram, V.R. Puram, Chintoor and Bhadrachalam mandal except the temple town merged in Rampachodavaram constituency and mandals like Kukkunoor, Velierpad and 4 villages of Burgumpahad in Polavaram constituency.

Election Commission issued orders on merging voters. The appeal made by MLAs Sunnam Rajaiah, Thati Venkateswarlu and Payam Venkateswarulu of Bhadrachalam, Aswaraopet and Pinapaka, who asked commission to keep them as MLAs till 2019, was kept aside.

A farmer, B. Balaraju said “It is a new experience for us and our MLAs have been changed without our consent.”

Rampachodavaram has come out with 2.36 lakh voters and Polavaram with 2.30 lakh voters. Due to this, the numbers of voters in Bhadrachalam, Aswaropet and Pinapaka Assembly seats in Khammam have been reduced to certain extent. A teacher, K.V. Ramana said “It is something new for us. We voted for one person during elections, but are being represented by another now as MLA”. He added the new MLAs should visit these areas to introduce themselves.

Medaram Jathara

Connect with us

© 2012 - 2016 VIL Media Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved,
Contents of v6news.tv are copyright protected.Copy and/or reproduction and/or re-use of contents or any part thereof,
without consent of VIL Media is illegal.Such persons will be prosecuted.